The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old March 14, 2018, 05:24 PM   #1
KLCane

Frequency of cleanings

I am sure this has been discussed over the years, but just curious as to how often you guys clean your firearms? I have been doing it each time after I shoot. Do you clean them brand new before you even shoot them?

I sort of enjoy stripping them down and making them all shiny and new looking.
Old March 14, 2018, 05:31 PM   #2
laytonj1

I clean them after every range use. I even strip them down and clean brand new guns before using them. It's a labor of love for me and I've been doing it that way for 32 years. Have yet to wear one down from cleaning.

Jim
Old March 14, 2018, 05:53 PM   #3
BigJimP

I always fully strip and clean and lube a brand new gun before I shoot it.

And yes, I clean a gun after every range visit..

I will also fully strip a gun to a bare frame about every 3,000 rds ...fully clean, inspect, lube and reassemble / or once a year, even if I don't shoot it often.
Old March 14, 2018, 06:06 PM   #4
Spats McGee
Staff

I strip down a brand new gun for a quick inspection. I clean them, ummmmm, periodically.
Old March 14, 2018, 06:18 PM   #5
UncleEd

I treat new guns the same as any
new car. With the car I tear it
down to its last bolt.

Most of the time, be they cars
or guns, they have too many
parts and can be discarded.

With a new toaster, I am sort of
in between.

How about you posters on new
toasters?
Old March 14, 2018, 06:40 PM   #6
MandolinMan

I clean my carry guns after every range trip. During the summer months I'll wipe down the outside weekly to prevent rust.

My other guns get cleaned much less frequently. Sometimes only after I start seeing malfunctions.