The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Closed Thread

Old July 31, 2013, 08:58 PM   #1
monkeyfist

9mm Ammo going to get cheaper or not?

I'm new to handguns. I hope to get my permit soon. I'm most likely going to go with 9mm for my first gun. Are the ammo prices about where they used to be, or are they much higher? It seems somewhat expensive to me, but I have no clue.

If it is more expensive, does anybody expect it to get cheaper any time soon? Are people still stockpiling because of recent events?
Old July 31, 2013, 09:09 PM   #2
Jim Watson

In my opinion.
Prices are still higher than they were before the Panic following the election and high profile murders.
I think they will come down some, but we have been trained to pay more.
I do not expect a return to 2012 pricing.

Availability will improve but slower than most expect. I don't think things had fully recovered from the 2009 Panic.
Old July 31, 2013, 09:25 PM   #3
BigD_in_FL

With the world-wide demand for copper, brass, and lead at all time highs and the current out of sight demand for ammo, it is doubtful that it will return to some mythical low price. It is what it is and right now is about as good as it gets............. Buy in bulk, learn to reload and don't get caught short next time
Old July 31, 2013, 10:02 PM   #4
JohnKSa
Staff

I figure it will take a year or more for prices to relax all the way back down across the board. That said, I know at least one local shop that has practice 9mm in stock with no purchase limits for $15 a box of 50. That's not great, but it's not really that far out of line from what I would have expected last year about this time from local gun store ammo prices.
Old August 1, 2013, 03:07 AM   #5
blitztech

Re: 9mm Ammo going to get cheaper or not?