The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old January 7, 2008, 02:25 PM   #1
Railslider

Help with rapid fire

Hey everyone. I'm a new pistol owner, I have an S&W M&P9c that I love. Had it for almost a month now and put 1,000 rounds through it thus far. Been able to produce some pretty decent groups at the range, as I said I'm pretty new to pistols but a long time rifle and shotgun shooter, I'm versed with what it takes to ready yourself for a good shot.

Anyway, now that I'm getting fairly proficient when give myself time to re-center, maybe a seond or two between firing, I'd like some help getting my double tap and rapid fire skills honed. Can anyone suggest any specifics? I'm shooting decent groups, I've been within 2" at 25 yards, I realize I could do a little better there, but those shots are lethal in my book. However, as soon as I speed it up to simulate what might happen if I'm required to draw and fire multiple shots at an attacker as fast as possible (I carry daily), my placement ends up all over the place. Thanks!
Old January 7, 2008, 03:28 PM   #2
ATW525

Forget about trying to shoot for the smallest group size possible when shooting for speed. Doing so will only slow you down. The "5 zone" of an IDPA target is a 8" circle and probably serves as a good benchmark for an acceptable group size for practical shooting.

Follow through is also important. Don't fight the recoil, allow the trigger to reset as the pistol comes up, and have the trigged prepped for the next shot when the sights settle back down on the target (as long as your stance and grip is good, the gun should return to very near the original point of aim).
Old January 7, 2008, 05:35 PM   #3
Caeser23

+1 on don't fight the recoil.
Old January 7, 2008, 05:51 PM   #4
Tanzer

It's also unlikely that you'd expend any more than a double tap at any kind of distance.
Old January 8, 2008, 03:04 AM   #5
Railslider