The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old September 16, 2018, 12:59 PM   #1
FarmerIvan

Best livestock defense rifle

Howdy, I have been looking around to see which rifle would be best for defending my livestock against predators around the farm and to target shoot here and there to sharpen my shooting skills a bit. I am pretty new to rifles as to knowing which caliber to use and what to use em for. I have been watching videos, doing my research on certain rifles and I have been thinking about a good ole Marlin 336w 30-30, but have also been looking at some of the Ruger American and Savage Axis 308 and 243. Of course there are others out there I have been reading and looking at but these are some of the ones that i have been looking into. So, I know where we live we can get raccoons, coyotes. Also, there have been reports of mountain lions roaming the area, and bears as well. So, any help from y'all would be appreciated. And let me know what y'all think of my 3 choices and if y'all would recommend any other rifles as well. Thanks.
Old September 16, 2018, 01:30 PM   #2
StumpShooter

.308 for ammo availabilty and overall performance track record
Old September 16, 2018, 01:37 PM   #3
jmr40

I like a shorter barreled, compact bolt gun in 308 for such roles. This with a low powered scope and a couple of 5 round magazines would be near the top of my list. Street price is right at $400

https://ruger.com/products/americanR...ets/26974.html

Winston Churchill
Old September 16, 2018, 02:14 PM   #4
FrankenMauser

The Marlin would be perfectly adequate, and probably my choice.

One of the budget bolt guns, like the Ruger American, would be just fine, as well.

For cartridges...
You'll have more varmint loads available for .243 Win, than .308 Win.
.308 Win has much more selection available for big game and targets than .243 or .30-30.