The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old December 18, 2009, 10:48 PM   #1
SEHunter

Barrel Prep at the Range...?

Im not a competitive shooter but i thought this would be a good place to post....Im wrapping up the first handloads for my Rem 700 chambered in 22-250 and will be testing them the next calm day out.

My question is what condition should the barrel be in to obtain the most accurate results of what each load really shoots like? At this time, the barrel has been thoroughly cleaned with solvent and there is no fouling present. The bullets are 50 grain C/T Ballistic Silver Tips with the "lubalox" coating. Thanks
Old December 18, 2009, 11:23 PM   #2
Casimer

I'm not an expert on this caliber or bullet, but generally your results will be more consistent once you've put a few rounds through a newly cleaned barrel - hence the term fouling rounds or fouling shots. But it is a good idea to start with a cleaned barrel for testing so that you're not shooting through the fouling from a different load. Also it's advisable to shoot at a moderate pace so that your barrel doesn't heat up too much. Some people let the barrel cool down significantly between each shot.
Old December 19, 2009, 07:57 AM   #3
SEHunter

I will make double the rounds for the first load then, so i can still see what the load will do with proper fouling. I dont know how the coating will affect the barrel. Its not exactly moly but im guessing some will foul off in the barrel as well as some copper maybe.

Do most shooters run the brush through the barrel in between each set of loads or just shoot the whole session without cleaning?
Old December 19, 2009, 08:52 AM   #4
eerw

has the barrel been broken in?
Old December 19, 2009, 09:03 AM   #5
Casimer

Typically people use 3 - 5 fouling shots, just to dirty the bore a bit.
Old December 19, 2009, 10:39 PM   #6
SEHunter