The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Closed Thread

Old June 5, 2016, 07:40 PM   #1
std7mag

Patent infringing upon development

So I have been studying different cartridges, and have looked at a design which I would like to further invest in.
While doing research, I ran across the patents owned by the former gun magazine writer John R. Jamison.
In his patents, he has pretty well locked up development on any "magnum" cartridges whatsoever. Hence his legal battle, and settlement with Winchester/Olin, just to name one.

What of the other "magnums" that have been developed since then? (of which I can think of 3 off the top of my head).

Would this not be a great detriment to any further evolution to the firearms industry?

Also, he has described the actual chamber, bolt design in his patents.

Thanks for any input.

Std7mag
Old June 5, 2016, 08:03 PM   #2
Aguila Blanca
Staff

I have no knowledge of any of the technical issues you mentioned. However, I don't see how the patent, even if valid, in any way infringes on future development of new cartridges. You are free to experiment all you want. What the patent does is ensure that if you develop a new cartridge that is covered by his patent, you have to pay him royalties if you want to market it.
Old June 5, 2016, 08:04 PM   #3
TXAZ

AB made some good points.

I'd add, that you really need to ask those questions to a patent attorney.
There are so many issues, the language and subtleties that lay persons don't understand.

I see 14 patents for him, they start expiring in 2020:

PAT. NO. Title
1 8,707,605 Full-Text Flexible fasteners for use in rifle construction
2 8,397,417 Full-Text Vibration damping in rifle construction
3 8,015,740 Full-Text Firearm construction employing three point bearing
4 7,127,836 Full-Text Shoe and boot protecting assembly
5 6,678,983 Full-Text Ultra-short-action firearm for high-power firearm cartridge