The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old July 24, 2020, 12:21 AM   #1
5whiskey

Anyone knowledgeable about Khyber pass enfields

So looking at a rifle on the broker, it’s an all matching (allegedly) No 4 MK I. It looks beat to heck from the few bad photos in the post. No roll mark photos. What little detail I can see of the receiver it looks crude, and the shape of the butt of the stock is definitely off. I have asked for pictures of roll marks but unsure if I will get them before the auction ends. I understand I may not get a response here before this auction ends but I would like to know for future reference anyway. FWIW I do not plan on buying this particular rifle anymore, as my mandatory wait 12 hours and think about it before bidding rule has probably done its intended job. I also understand buying firearms on gunbroker can be a gamble but I have had some good experiences.

Does anyone know if any No4 Khyber pass knock offs were ever made? From my brief research the majority of them were No 1 Mk iii rifles. I’ve also read that some Khyber copies somehow were imported as recently as 2007, and have allegedly been sold under the Impression the were not copies but were functional rifles. Has anyone else seen or heard of this? Enfields are drying up and going up in price, and it’s something I’ve always planned on getting. Gunbroker opens up options, there are very few listed locally and many are big $$$ (not paying $700 for a nothing matching, missing hand guard beater). I do want to make sure I make informed decisions, hence why I ask here.

https://thefiringline.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=593946
Old July 24, 2020, 05:14 AM   #2
Rondog

I can't remember the model, but I saw an Enfield at Cabela's that was sketchy as hell. I'd bet 29 cents it was a Khyber. It was scary just holding it.
Old July 25, 2020, 07:46 PM   #3
Tidewater_Kid