The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 15, 2008, 01:08 AM   #1
SLOPlinker

Location: San Luis Obispo, CA -- half way between San Francisco and LA and not a lot like either one
9mm: Why pick one bullet weight instead of another?

I'll start off by admitting I'm completely new to reloading, so I apologize right up front for the dumb question. I've been reading all I can find and trying to absorb it all. One thing that isn't obvious to me: What goes into picking what bullet weight you use? Common factory loads for 9mm are 115, 124 or 147 grain. Aside from a little experimenting, I've only shot Winchester White Box (115 grain) because it is really cheap, readily availalbe and goes Bang every time.

I should say right here that my purpose for my reloading rounds are purely action pistol target loads -- Steel Challenge, USPSA, maybe IDPA. So my goal is an easy-to-make (hard to screw up), cheap round that is very reliable and minimum felt recoil while still meeting power factor and at least moderately accurate. This is not defensive ammo, so stopping power, penetration, etc. don't count.

Most of the suggested loading data for 9mm seem to land about the needed 125 power factor whether they are 115, 124 or 147 bullets -- just different muzzle velocities. For action pistol, do I care? A heavier, slower bullet vs. a lighter faster one? Difference is felt recoil for the same PF? One weight or the other harder to load in a safe, consistent fashion? If it matters, I shoot an XD-9 with a 5" barrel.

By the way, I'll probably use titegroup just because it is what everyone seems to recomend as a starting place for 9mm, but I'm open to other opinions.

THANKS for helping the new guy!
Old July 15, 2008, 06:31 AM   #2
45Marlin carbine

I don't shoot competition so can only say that I shoot the Golden Sabre 124gr because it's the most accurate out of my S&W 5906 useing Power Pistol.