The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

View Poll Results: How often do you use a chronograph
Never, I don't own one 2 10.53%
When testing the powder charge during load development 8 42.11%
All phases of load development, charge - seating depth- primer choice 4 21.05%
only to get the FPS for scope adjustments 2 10.53%
any time I am at the range practicing 3 15.79%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 14, 2022, 10:59 AM   #1
hounddawg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 1, 2009
Posts: 4,232
How often do you use your chrono?

for me the only purpose of a chrono these days is to get my FPS for scope comeups after load development or to check after a large temperature swing


Myself I only use my chronos at the end of my load development. During load resting the POI of the rounds tells me everything I need. I shoot short range benchrest at 100 and 200 and long range F class out to 850 yards and I could care less what the statistics say. All that matters to me is where those rounds hit. I have yet to find a load that shoots bugholes at 100 yards when developing a load that did not hold up at long range.
__________________
“How do I get to the next level?” Well, you get to the next level by being the first one on the range and the last one to leave.” – Jerry Miculek

Last edited by hounddawg; January 14, 2022 at 11:05 AM.
hounddawg is offline  
Old January 14, 2022, 12:49 PM   #2
tangolima
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 28, 2013
Posts: 2,929
I use Chrono, upgraded to labradar, mostly to verify GRT simulation results. Not really care the speed variation either. I also use the trend of POI to find loads for accuracy.

We have been in lean years. I have to use whatever components available for handloading, including powders that have limited load information. GRT (similar to quickload) is very handy. But I need to collect test results to verify / calibrate the model.

-TL

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
tangolima is online now  
Old January 14, 2022, 04:31 PM   #3
Reloadron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 8, 2016
Location: Cleveland, Ohio Suburbs
Posts: 1,747
My Chronograph is an older Oehler 35P I use it maybe three times a year if working up a new load or occasionally to see if primers or brass with the same charge make any difference in velocity. That old Oehler was a gift from the wife over 20 years ago and still does the job just fine.

Ron
Reloadron is offline  
Old January 14, 2022, 05:40 PM   #4
MarkCO
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 21, 1998
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 3,806
You did not give me the choice for my answer...

All phases of load development, charge - seating depth- AND to get the FPS for scope adjustments.

When I go to the range and the rifle has 500+ rounds on it since the last chrono. I will check it. I also chrono some factory and some known reloads out of a new barrel/rifle. When it settles, I know I can then start working on a load for it. Most of the time, just a small tweak from a prior load if in the same caliber.

I also use it to check a rifle out for changes in velocity due to other than perfect fundamentals during practice.
__________________
Good Shooting, MarkCO
www.CarbonArms.us
MarkCO is offline  
Old January 14, 2022, 06:39 PM   #5
hounddawg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 1, 2009
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
You did not give me the choice for my answer...
guess I should have had a choice - A heckuva lot !

thought I had that covered with choice 5 lol
__________________
“How do I get to the next level?” Well, you get to the next level by being the first one on the range and the last one to leave.” – Jerry Miculek
hounddawg is offline  
Old January 14, 2022, 06:55 PM   #6
Shadow9mm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 21, 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 3,329
You needed a "Other" option for you poll.

I use a Chronograph for the following.
Working up loads
Testing primers
When shooting rifles to re-verify velocity if i'm in a different location, or temps have changed a fair bit.

I have never used a chrono when testing seating depths. One I have my powder charge set I adjust in 0.003 increments, I found it made no difference in my use to velocity, only adjusted when the bullet left the barrel for stable spot in the harmonics.

as far as frequency, I use it pretty regularly, generally every other outing, sometimes more.
__________________
I don't believe in "range fodder" that is why I reload.

Last edited by Shadow9mm; January 17, 2022 at 06:41 PM.
Shadow9mm is offline  
Old January 15, 2022, 09:02 AM   #7
std7mag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 23, 2013
Location: Central Taxylvania..
Posts: 3,588
I didn't see the option i would have chosen in the poll.

I use mine after i find my powder charge. FPS is, what it will be. Mostly looking at ES/SD.
If they are acceptable to me, then i'll use the velocity to plug into my ballistics calculator, and shoot at distance to true my velocity.
__________________
When our own government declares itself as "tyrannical", where does that leave us??!!

"Januarary 6th insurrection".
Funny, I didn't see a single piece of rope...
std7mag is offline  
Old January 15, 2022, 10:03 AM   #8
MarkCO
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 21, 1998
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 3,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow9mm View Post
I have never used a chrono when testing seating depths. One I have my powder charge set I adjust in 0.003 increments, I found it made no difference in my use to velocity, only adjusted when the bullet left the barrel for stable spot in the harmonics.
I generally agree, but I still leave it on as a double check.
__________________
Good Shooting, MarkCO
www.CarbonArms.us
MarkCO is offline  
Old January 15, 2022, 10:05 AM   #9
Stugotz
Member
 
Join Date: December 24, 2013
Posts: 33
99% of the time while I am at the range. I record the weather conditions in a booklet that I have for that rifle along with all of the data on the particular load I am shooting at the time. I will refer back to a particular entry to see what best matches the current conditions I will be shooting in on that particular day. Oh, and I have been using a LabRadar for a few years now.
Stugotz is offline  
Old January 16, 2022, 03:11 PM   #10
jmr40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 15, 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 10,618
Usually only when developing a new load just to ensure I'm not getting too close to an overload. Once I'm happy with a load I almost never use it. In fact I've pretty much settled on which loads I use and haven't used mine in a while. But I'd not want to try to develop loads without one.

Using the data to enter into a ballistics chart is secondary. I do it, but for what I do I don't think it is all that important. I'm not going to be shooting past 600 at the range and probably no more than 1/2 that at game. Not that much difference in bullet drop at those ranges with anything I shoot.

Sometimes just for fun I set it up. Can be interesting to see what type of velocity I get with different rifles.
__________________
"If you're still doing things the same way you were doing them 10 years ago, you're doing it wrong"

Winston Churchill
jmr40 is offline  
Old January 16, 2022, 03:33 PM   #11
pete2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 15, 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,565
I have one but seldom use it, more fun to be shooting. I have used it to check vel. on air rifles and some pistol loads for power factor. I did check some of my .38 in a 642 revolver. Never used it on a high power rifle or a .22. I develop rifle loads for accuracy per the loading manual. Only for hunting rifles, no long range target shooting.
pete2 is offline  
Old January 17, 2022, 09:53 AM   #12
Nathan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 1, 2001
Posts: 5,885
When I bought a Labradar, it tripled my usage because it is soooo easy to setup.
Nathan is online now  
Old February 21, 2022, 10:45 PM   #13
Plainsman
Member
 
Join Date: October 31, 1998
Location: Grand Forks, ND, USA, NA
Posts: 39
Load development and checking rimfire loads/velocities for MPBR.
Also, anytime I’m using a newer load in a different season for the first time.
Plainsman is offline  
Old February 22, 2022, 12:10 AM   #14
Double Naught Spy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 8, 2001
Location: Forestburg, Montague Cnty, TX
Posts: 12,635
I pretty much only use mine when I am trying out new ammo or need to determine the velocity of an already chrono'd ammo in a different gun.
__________________
"If you look through your scope and see your shoe, aim higher." -- said to me by my 11 year old daughter before going out for hogs 8/13/2011
My Hunting Videos https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange
Double Naught Spy is offline  
Old February 23, 2022, 03:07 AM   #15
Pathfinder45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 7, 2008
Posts: 3,185
I quit using it after I shot it.
Pathfinder45 is offline  
Old March 14, 2022, 09:11 AM   #16
iosteyee
Member
 
Join Date: April 29, 2020
Posts: 29
I use mine after finding an accurate load. Though I've found lab radar to be more accurate than any chrono I've tried.
iosteyee is offline  
Old March 21, 2022, 11:34 AM   #17
Bart B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 15, 2009
Posts: 8,922
Never used one for load development.

Only used one to see the different average velocities across several people using the same rifle and ammo.

Last edited by Bart B.; March 21, 2022 at 12:41 PM.
Bart B. is offline  
Old March 21, 2022, 06:52 PM   #18
Hawg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 8, 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 15,981
I don't have one. Never needed one.
Hawg is offline  
Old March 24, 2022, 05:20 AM   #19
bacardisteve
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 5, 2006
Location: West virginia
Posts: 645
Anytime im working on a new load. Helps to identify nodes of I run them over chrono. Im always looking for single digit es/sd If i can get it. The farther you shoot the more its going to matter. A 35fps spread wont show itself shooting groups out to 300yds or so without a chrono but take that same load out farther and it will quickly ruin your groups and at 1k yds may cause you to miss altogether.
__________________
Kill em all and let God sort em out! USAF
bacardisteve is offline  
Old March 26, 2022, 02:32 AM   #20
44 AMP
Staff
 
Join Date: March 11, 2006
Location: Upper US
Posts: 26,547
Actually quit using the one I had a couple decades ago...
__________________
All else being equal (and it almost never is) bigger bullets tend to work better.
44 AMP is offline  
Old March 27, 2022, 10:35 AM   #21
Bart B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 15, 2009
Posts: 8,922
If the bullets leave the barrel at the right place on the muzzle axis upswing, slower ones will strike the same place on downrange targets as faster ones.

Tuners change the muzzle axis vibration frequency to make that happen.
Bart B. is offline  
Old March 27, 2022, 09:31 PM   #22
cjp45
Member
 
Join Date: March 9, 2006
Location: Mid Michigan
Posts: 17
I have two chronos. One is an old Pact PC 2 that I use when working up and testing loads for handguns. The other one is a Magneto-Speed V3 which I use for working up and testing loads for rifles.
__________________
NRA LIFE MEMBER
cjp45 is offline  
Old March 30, 2022, 10:10 AM   #23
bamaranger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 9, 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 7,851
Depends

When first acquired, [ ran all my favorite loads through mine . Very enlightening, some were spot on for velocity, most were slow.

These days, used with load development or switching powders.
bamaranger is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2021 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Page generated in 0.12083 seconds with 9 queries