The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 23, 2009, 06:20 PM   #1
ddeyo1

Favorite dies

Just got my co-ax press and im gonna order dies soon. Wondering if anyone has a preference for dies. ill be doing both bottleneck and straight cartridges. i was looking at either getting redding or forster dies. Any input would be helpfull.
Thanks
Old March 23, 2009, 06:35 PM   #2
Shane Tuttle
Staff

I have quite a bit of experience with Redding dies. I really like these overall. I would change the locking rings, though. I have no experience with Forster so I can't comment if they're necessarily better or not.

I like the older RCBS dies that were made in America.

I have Hornady's New Dimension die set with the titanium nitride coated sizer die. I'm not impressed with it or the seating die. They claim that you have a very smooth sizing process. Frankly, I've had the opposite. My cases stick like nobody's business unless I keep them lubed constantly. The main reason why I bought the set was the said claim. For disclosure, I haven't had the chance to call Hornady yet so they can have the opportunity to make things right.

Posting and YOU: http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/posting
Old March 23, 2009, 07:09 PM   #3
ddeyo1

i have some forster locking rings that came with the press. Im planning on using those rings with whatever dies i get. I was somewhat leaning towards redding because theyre a tad cheaper than forsters.
Old March 23, 2009, 07:58 PM   #4
Inspector3711

If you're reloading for a bolt action, get a Lee collet die. Other than that, I have great success with Lee carbide for pistol and Redding for the three rifle cartridges I reload.
Old March 23, 2009, 08:27 PM   #5
ConRich