The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old April 28, 2017, 09:00 AM   #1
axis223

thumbhole vs classic stock?

I am torn between a boyds varmint thumbhole and a boyds classic for my savage axis heavy barrel. I have never used a thumbhole stock before and from what i read they seem to help stabilize for bench and varmint hunting. I mostly bench shoot and woodchuck hunt with it.

My main concern is i will get a thumbhole and it will be uncomfortable for me to shoot and im out $150.

anyone not like thumbholes and prefer a classic stock for comfort?
Old April 28, 2017, 09:07 AM   #2
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

I'm mostly a hunter. My limited experience is that it takes a bit longer, more hand motion, to cycle the bolt. Sometimes a "right now" second shot is needed.

That should not be a detriment when paper punching or for shooting woodchucks. Although I've only handled a few, I found the style to be comfortable.
Old April 28, 2017, 09:11 AM   #3
Txhillbilly

I have several thumbhole stocks and really like them.
Old April 28, 2017, 09:26 AM   #4
Danoobie

It's a personal preference.
I like mine, but I'd try a couple, before
you buy.
Old April 28, 2017, 09:28 AM   #5
axis223

Art

I was a little worried about the not being able to take a fast follow up shot. Even though they are mangy woodchucks sometimes they move or the hit doesnt put them down right away so ill put another one in them so they dont suffer. I watched a few videos and the safety and bolt movement seem to be very limited.
Old April 28, 2017, 09:56 AM   #6
briandg

My experience is that thumbhole stocks fit pretty much the same as others. The hand still wraps around that core. Different designs of standard stocks may be better suited to you than a badly fitting thumbhole.

Are bowling balls universal? Guns aren't as personalized, but hand size and shape matter.
Old April 28, 2017, 10:35 AM   #7
rickyrick