The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old August 6, 2015, 08:41 PM   #1
sliponby

Amazed at the ignorance

I'm at a local big box gun counter talking to a salesman I know when a couple approaches and are in the market for a pistol for the wife. The husband readily admits that he has little experience with pistols and the wife has none. I'm a firearms instructor and my main concentration is with the beginners, the ones who need training the most, and I mainly teach the NRA Basic Pistol Course. I'm by no means an "expert" but I like to think I help those who need it the most with firearms safety, knowledge and skills.

The salesman graciously introduced me as an instructor and the couple were appreciative of my offer of advice. I started with the "what use will you have for this pistol question. Concealed carry? Home defense only? Both?" They stated their intended use was for home defense only. I encouraged them to stay away from the compacts and look more towards Glock 19, M&P 9, etc. I encouraged them to stay with 9mm.

Suddenly, we were interrupted by a gentleman who looked to be in his sixties. "You need a .40 caliber instead of a 9mm" he told the couple. I immediately disagreed and stated that a new, inexperienced shooter would be better served to start with a 9mm and maybe move to a .40 cal. after they had mastered the fundamentals.

The gent described himself as "an old jarhead" and that his wife and daughter both have .40 cal. Glocks. He went on to say "I taught them to make the first shot to the groin area and let the recoil of the gun bring follow up shots to the stomach and chest". Needless to say I was so flabbergasted at the ignorance of that statement that I was speechless for a few moments. I recovered, did my best to ignore this guy and continued on with the couple as the salesman began to show them a Glock 19. They eventually settled on a Ruger SR9 because they wanted a pistol with a safety.