The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old July 22, 2018, 09:34 PM   #1
sakorick

Uberti 1847 Walker Colt 44 help

I was watching the Outlaw Josie Wales on TV the other night and the Colt Walker he carried just looked so cool! So I purchased one. I have been shooting black powder rifles for many years but this is my first pistol and I'm looking for advice. Not for hunting...just for some fun plinking.
1. What are some handy tools to consider?
2. Pyrodex, 777 or black powder?
3. I'll be shooting round lead so what diameter and brands are best?
4. What primer does this thing take...10 or 11?
5. Do I need lubed patches? If so, what kind? I have a big tube of butter lube.
6. Cleaning supplies?
7. Who fills the cylinder space with Cream of Wheat? How close to the end of the cyl for accuracy?
8. I live in the middle of nowhere so will have to get my stuff on line....recommendations?
9. Any other tips appreciated. Regards, Rick.
Old July 22, 2018, 10:15 PM   #2
Bimus

#1 nipple wrench
#2 Pyrodex or black powder FFFG
#3 454 Speer or Hornady
#4 My gun likes Remington #10
# 5 no after loading the ball on powder fill cylinder with Crisco
#6 hot water
#7 I never tried it
#9 About 35 grains works for me I never shot groups but it's my # 1 gun for Grouse .
Old July 22, 2018, 10:21 PM   #3
Model12Win

Track of the Wolf and Dixie Gun Works are great for supplies.
Old July 22, 2018, 11:28 PM   #4
4V50 Gary
Staff

#7. I've used cream of wheat/farina as filler. It's only purpose is to fill the gap between the powder and the ball. It also keeps the powder closer to the nipple for better discharge.
Old July 23, 2018, 12:13 AM   #5
Beagle333

I agree.... Track and Dixie are good places for supplies. Between those two, I can't think of anything you'd need to hunt down elsewhere.