The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old December 29, 2016, 01:55 PM   #1
MarkCO

Barnes TSX

I have been using the Barnes TSX (and TTSX) on game for about 4 years now. I like Barnes and this bullet line had some good appeal and several people who I respected vouched for it.

I have used the .22, 6mm, 6.5mm, .30 caliber and .338 caliber. I must say that as impressed as I have been with the smaller calibers, I just can't get the terminal performance I want with the .30 and .338 caliber. To me, it seems that this is a bullet more suited to the smaller diameters, and as fast as you can push them.

My 410 yard shot on a large cow elk yesterday with the .338 had an entry hole and exit hole that was exactly the same diameter. The prior rounds I have shot on elk with the Barnes TSX and TTSX have shown that (at least for my MV of 2850) past about 250 yards (or 2200 fps impact velocity) expansion is minimal at best. Barnes states expansion down to 1500, but based on my experience, I am starting to think that is just the tip starting to expand, but for actual usable expansion, 2200 fps is needed.

The elk went about 50 yards and went down and required a finish shot. The impact location was about in the middle of the lungs vertically, and the last 1/3 horizontally. The lungs were bloodshot, but not jellied. While the diaphragm was intact, one of the stomachs was ruptured. Granted 410 yards is a little longer than most will shoot and was not "perfect" placement. However, impact velocity and energy were well within ethical parameters and ones which Barnes published. I had almost the same impact point on an elk 5 years ago with a 210 Nosler at 525 yards that was a DRT, 1" exit hole and jellied lungs. Inside 250, the bullets seemed to perform well, which is fine for some folks, but I don't have the confidence that they will expand at longer yardages (or really, slower impact velocities).