The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old October 21, 2007, 07:18 PM   #1
Savage_The_Barbarian

First post - Need help identifying revolvers

Hello:

New to the forum and to BP. Was buying some long arms for hunting when I was offered some BP pistols. As I always wanted a 'western' revolver, I decided to check these out and see if I would be interested in going into BP shooting as well as cartridge shooting.

Unfortunately, what I was told and what I think that I have may be two different things. I was told that the pistols that I was purchasing were Uberti's but I think that they are Piettas. As I said I am new to this so I would appreciate any information that you can provide. I have attached several picturs of the two pistols. The quality is not that good but its the best that I can do with my camera.

This is the first revolver:

This is the second one:

Based on the information that I could obtain on line, I know that one was made in 1985 [AN] and the other in 1986 [AP]. They are of Italian manufacture based upon the Proof seals seen here:

These pistols look like the ones seen here at this link:

http://www.taylorsfirearms.com/produ...Collection.tpl

and look like the 410PIE and the 430PIE.

As I said, being new to this, I am unsure who the manufacture of these revolvers are. The only difference on the barrels is the second revolver (not brass) has the following on the top of the barrel "ARMI SAN PABLO".

Thanks for your help.
Old October 21, 2007, 07:38 PM   #2
Hawg

Armi San Paolo is a Euroarms. Pietta has FLLI PIETTA on the right side of the barrel and a diamond with FAP in it for a trademark. Uberti has a front view of a rifled barrel with a U inside it for a trademark. You can check here for identifying most major manufacturers.
http://store.bluebookinc.com/Info/PD...Proofmarks.pdf
Old October 21, 2007, 07:54 PM   #3
Savage_The_Barbarian

OK now I am really confused.