The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old October 16, 2007, 08:29 PM   #1
Mags

Fixed blade knives......

I thought Id ask this question after reading the SOG Seal Pup knife thread. I'm new to knives, I always liked the fixed blade but thay are big. Some of you mentioned ease of carry etc. Please elighten me, Do you mean carry out in public conealed or not? Most of the fixed blade knives are 4" and over and I thought it was illegal to carry anything aover 3". If your not a hunter what else would a knife like that come in handy for?
Old October 16, 2007, 10:56 PM   #2
dwatts47

If you have a concealed WEAPON permit, you can carry any weapon that you choose, so long as it's legal in your area and concealed.

Next I, like so many of us, keep a SHTF kit (dragbag) that has my Wilson Combat AR15, 5 loaded 30 rnd mags , spare springs, spare batteries for the surefire/aimpoint, lube, surefire bulbs, spare shoot thru muzzle covers AND SEAL KNIFE. --- which is probably the intended use for this type of knife... as a last resort/'gotta have a knife' situations.

david
Old October 17, 2007, 12:55 AM   #3
CourtCop

I believe that it depends on the citys administrative code. Last I checked 4 inches is the legal limit in NYC but as I said the laws vary from one city to the next.
Old October 18, 2007, 12:12 AM   #4
dwatts47

Quote:
Last I checked 4 inches is the legal limit in NYC but as I said the laws vary from one city to the next.
For the purpose of discussion, use of the term concealed weapon (meaning a legally owned/carried means of not giving your life to some dirtbag who doesn't cherrish or deserve even his own life, let alone yours) NYC, Chicago,Washington DC, and anywhere in california shall be mentally excluded from any advice involving protecting yourself.... as it seems those places side with the dirtbags that don't cherrish life.
Old October 18, 2007, 12:19 AM   #5
The Tourist