The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 2, 2014, 06:55 PM   #1
mxsailor803

Shotgun reloading newb

Guys I need some tips/advice. I've recently got back into shooting Sporting Clays and forgot how much fun it was. Well I see that I'm probably going to be shooting around 100-150rnds a week very soon (like Friday lol). I'm seriously considering reloading for my 12ga now. I already reload for metallic cartridges, just never done it for hulls. Does anyone have any press recommendations or specialty gear that I might not have as a decently equipped pistol/rifle reloader?
Old August 2, 2014, 09:06 PM   #2
rg1

Mec shotshell presses are highly recommended. I have a Sizemaster but don't know if I'd want to load 150 rounds per week on it but it wouldn't take too much time. Consider if you want a progressive automatic press or not. Not trying to discourage you but a lot of shotgun shooters buy factory loads by the case or Federal and Winchester bulk packs from places like Walmart, Cabelas, etc. Considering lead shot is $40-$50 per 25 lb. bag, shotshell primers close to $40 per thousand and wads around $10 per 500, $28-40 per pound of powder, plus your equipment cost and time involved it may not be money saving. That's not counting shotshell hull prices. I really enjoy loading shotshells for hunting and on occasional clay target shooting from a portable clay target thrower. Like golf, tennis, and in your case shotshell target sports the high expense of practice and competition has left many unable to participate. Just do the math on what it'd cost to load versus buy but it is nice to have the ability to load shotshells should the need arise. You won't have to have extra equipment if you have a powder scale and sometimes you may need calipers. I like Mec's Shotshell Checker to check and adjusting the sizer collet on my Sizemaster. Maybe the stacker which holds 25 rounds and makes it easie