The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old February 24, 2012, 05:15 AM   #1
hylysly

I Found A Holster for Cowboy Boots!

I recently purchased a Ruger LCP as a backup weapon for the sole purpose of using it as my backup. I expected a readily available selection of boot holsters for such a small weapon, and was ASTONISHED to find NONE in the retail world.

What I did find, however, was a number of threads about this very issue, guys asking how to carry "in boot." All of them seem to have the same talking points: Crowding in the boot; draw time; accessibility; boot height; etc.

I saw a problem, and as an engineer, I set about to fixing it. I now have, and wear a holster that reliably carries, conceals, retains, and protects my LCP and works WITH a cowboy boot mount while maintaining accessibility comparable to ankle holsters, or BETTER.

I can tell you that as a US Marine, I can appreciate an acute ability to access a weapon whenever necessary, and what I have created here meets any requirement I can think of for a backup holster. Depending on preference, some may consider my holster as a primary carry option.

This is not a sales pitch, but rather an attempt to gauge the interest, if any, in a holster with A COWBOY BOOT MOUNT for everyday concealed carry. As of right now, I am a private citizen who fabricated something to meet his own exacting standards. If people are interested, maybe I'll consider setting up shop.

I don't yet have pictures, but I'll tell you the following:

-The holster sits OUTSIDE the boot, halfway down.

-I am right-handed, so I wear it on my left cowboy boot, inside my leg.

-When mounted, the holster CANNOT come free of the boot without manual intervention.

-A few seconds will free the holster from the boot and move it to your calf/ankle should you visit somewhere requiring shoes off (like my mom's house) without ever removing the weapon from the holster.