The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old March 1, 2012, 12:52 AM   #1
BigPoppa

NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home

I am seriously considering taking this course in May and was wondering if anyone else had taken this course and how did you like it. The cost is $100 and I was thinking if I would get any useful information from the course that would actually be worth $100 plus the time spent and the 150 rounds of ammo that is supposed to be used.
Old March 1, 2012, 06:19 AM   #2
Murdock

I am an instructor for this course. The best thing about it is that the NRA requires an attorney to be part of the instruction team. There is no better way to learn the real details of the law relative to use of lethal force in self defense in your own state. Generic information and chat room speculation don't cut it when the reality of law hits.

$100 is about par.
Old March 1, 2012, 10:44 AM   #3
Frank Ettin
Staff

I'm also NRA certified for the course. To some extent it might depend on what sort of training one already has had. But in general, I think it's very worthwhile. And $100 is very reasonable for the class, IMO.
Old March 1, 2012, 03:45 PM   #4
wayneinFL

Wow. If someone in FL did the class for $100 in my area, I'd take it in a heartbeat.
Old March 1, 2012, 03:57 PM   #5
Lee Lapin

Wayne,

See http://www.nrainstructors.org/searchcourse.aspx to determine what NRA classes are offered - searchable by zip code or by state.

Attitude and skill will get you through times of no gear, better than gear will get you through times of no attitude and no skill.
Old March 1, 2012, 04:12 PM   #6
DasGuy

I just checked for my area, they want $200. The next closest one (which isn't really close at all) is $350.

So they get to charge whatever they want for these pretty much? I figured there'd be a standard or something.
Old March 1, 2012, 09:13 PM   #7
Discern