The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 15, 2014, 09:49 PM   #1
Wheelie_Fan

Total Noob

Ok, so...

I'm reading up on reloading for 44 special and/or 44 mag. (Just picked up a new Mod. 69). I'm watching vids.... Looking at presses... Taking notes...

My big concern is... Looking at online suppliers, It doesn't look very easy to obtain the necessary components... powder especially.

Any suggestions?
Old October 16, 2014, 04:20 AM   #2
Jimro

The following is just my advice, so take it or leave it as you see fit.

Find a local store that sells Unique. I recommend it because there is a lot of data and you can use it in most pistol cartridges. You'll get a lot of loads out of a pound of Unique.

Reload 44 special level loads with it for a while, even the data for 44 magnum loads is really 44 special power level with Unique. Once you've worked through that pound of powder, and if you feel the need to step up to full magnum loads, then step up to a magnum pistol powder.

However, it is my experience that shooting is more enjoyable with 44 special level loads, but you may want to roll some hunting loads or something where Win296 would be more appropriate for a magnum load.

Jimro
Old October 16, 2014, 07:50 AM   #3
RKG

Sound advice.
Old October 16, 2014, 09:35 AM   #4
AllenJ

Getting supplies is tough but nothing like it was a year ago. Stay vigilant in your search, you'll find some. I've had good luck searching local shops for most components.
Old October 16, 2014, 11:09 AM   #5
Nick_C_S

Yes, a new loader starting out right now is in for a frustrating initiation. Shortages abound. Projectiles are abundant for the most part. Primers can be found, but are not ubiquitous as of yet. Powder - now that's a horse of a different color. Powder supplies are scarce. Oddly enough, IMR 4227 seems to be abundant, and it is an excellent powder for full-power 44 Mag rounds.