The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old September 19, 2016, 06:15 AM   #1
Excoastie

cleaning

Good morning everyone!

I'm pretty new to gun ownership, and until yesterday it had been more than 20 yrs since I shot anything.

My accuracy wasn't as good as I was hoping for, but I'm hoping that is mostly being out of practice. I've only put 50 rounds through, so I figure I have a couple hundred more before I get to a point where I feel "proficient".

My question was about cleaning. I purchased a generic pistol cleaning kit from Academy that has the patches, gun bore cleaning oil, lubricating oil, etc. I also purchased a brass bristle brush.

Do I really need anything else other than a lint free rag or two? I've been reading about various types of solvent, lubricants, and gizmos and whorrly gigs that can be used to clean all parts. I'm thinking that most of the other stuff is just a personal preference thing, but figured that I'd ask the experts.

Thanks

Exco
Old September 19, 2016, 06:22 AM   #2
cptjack

IF SHOOTING a rifle I would suggest a bore guide cleaning from the breech
Old September 19, 2016, 06:54 AM   #3
Excoastie

Sorry I wasn't clear on my weapons.

I have a S & W SW9VE and a Ruger LCP in .380

Exco
Old September 19, 2016, 09:58 AM   #4
rpseraph

In my experience, most gizmos and widgets are mostly hype. Some things make certain aspects easier... but if you keep up with cleaning, you don't need much.

Generally, after a few hundred rounds I'll take down the pistol, toothbrush full of gun cleaner (Hoppe's #9 for example) and brush the chamber, the barrel, the slide, wipe it off. Brass brush through the barrel, patch through the barrel, maybe 2 patches if the first came out really dirty. A little lube (anything from motor oil to gun specific lubricants) on the slide rails.