The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old December 10, 2020, 02:53 AM   #1
TruthTellers

Has anyone ever used toilet wax rings for lube before?

Saw a video on youtube recently and the guy was buying toilet wax rings at Home Depot for cheap and using the wax to make his own bullet lubes at home. In the comments some said that they use it for their black powder guns and I was wonder if anyone else has tried this? What was your formula?

Bottom line, is this a better, more cost effective way to shoot percussion revolvers than with T/C Bore Butter?
Old December 10, 2020, 03:35 AM   #2
HiBC

When I read about cap and ball in the 1960s Gun Digest,the Lube de Jour was Crisco.I have no experience with it.
It might matter if its for a range session or to stay loaded for a few weeks or till needed.
The rings are beeswax. Folks come up with their own recipes. Beeswax,lanolin.tallow,I think some use Vaseline.

You get to decide if bore butter suits you. I;ve seen bulk lanolin and beeswax on E-bay.
Petroleum based products are avoided.Something about turning to asphalt.

Depending on the local temps.melting point might matter.

Last edited by HiBC; December 10, 2020 at 03:44 AM.
Old December 10, 2020, 07:38 AM   #3
mehavey

Quote:
Petroleum based products are avoided [w/BP].
+1
(and toilet seals are now virtually 100% petroleum slack)

Like HiBC mentions, "Bore Butter" can be made on your own, and is rather simple:
https://www.thehighroad.org/index.ph...#post-10116423
Bulk Beeswax can be found at most any Hobby/Candle section.

Last edited by mehavey; December 10, 2020 at 07:47 AM.
Old December 11, 2020, 02:29 PM   #4
Hawg