The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 26, 2014, 07:43 PM   #1
lokidansk

To crimp or not to crimp?

To say I'm new to reloading would be a large understatemnt. I just recieved my first dies two days ago. I will be loading .223 for a 20" ar15 to bench and coyota hunt. I will also be loading for a Reminton 700 in 6mm Rem strickly for bench shooting. In yall,s oppinion should I crimp the rounds or not? If so, or if not please let me know why.

P.S.
This is only my first stupid question guys, more will surly follow.

Thanks
'Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body......... but rather to skid in sideways with a cigar in one hand & a Scotch in the other......... body thoroughly used up & totally worn out.........screaming 'woo hoo -- what a ride !!'
Old November 26, 2014, 08:28 PM   #2
Bart B.

Top ranked competitive shooters winning rapid fire NRA matches and setting records with their ARs don't shoot ammo with crimped in bullets. Neither do the best bullet makers testing 22 caliber bullets for accuracy. They know crimping impairs accuracy. Normal case neck grip on bullets is good enough.

Standard full length sizing dies makes that happen. Set the standard seating die up about 1/16" above the shell holder when the press ram's at the top of its stroke so that die's crimping shoulder doesn't touch the case mouth. Competition grade seating dies for rifle cases don't have crimping shoulders. The die's neck is long enough to prevent the bottom of its bullet guide touching the case mouth.

Do what you believe is best and you're comfortable with.

Last edited by Bart B.; November 27, 2014 at 06:15 AM.
Old November 26, 2014, 08:40 PM   #3
condor bravo