The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old January 28, 2017, 06:33 PM   #1
stagpanther

2nd Outing with Patriot 375 Ruger

Since my first outing was just a few shots of "very mild" 235 gr hot cors I decided to man up a bit and step up to full-power 270 gr SP driven by RL15 for my next attempt. I worked my way up gradually, but topped out at just below the redline with a load yielding 60,000 psi. Playing around with the numbers on QL I quickly got a picture that there is a diminishing point of returns where large increases in powder (depending on the powder type) net little gain in velocity (but lots of boom/recoil). That said, RL 15 seems to burn extremely efficiently and cleanly in this cartridge

I'm still new to this class of power in a rifle--so I'm still learning how best to adjust by my own trial and error. I'm still learning how to deal with the recoil in this particular rifle--it wouldn't surprise me if a Ruger Hawkeye in the same caliber feels and handles the same cartridge in a different way--but I don't know.

I shot 20 cartridges from the bench using a front bag rest. On my first outing I fet the recoil was akin to a "progressive pulse"--but after today's 20 shots I'd describe the recoil as a "solid shove." It is not a "kick like a mule" slam to the shoulder (in fact I feel no residual pain at all to my shoulder) but a very forceful shove to the entire upper torso, which if I wasn't doing things "just right" resulted in my head snapping back--much more like being rear-ended by a car than anything else in felt recoil transmission--if that makes any sense.