The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old June 24, 2017, 03:18 PM   #1
papa_spaceflight

What firearms do I take to the range?

I'm relatively new to shooting. Received my first gun (S&W model 64) last year as a gift. Recently I made my first purchase (S&W M&P 2.0 9mm), and I also gun I'm borrowing for target practice (walther p22).

The question is, where do I start? When I go to the range should I warm up with the .22 and then switch to one of the others? Should I spend lots of time practicing with just the .22? Or should I spend my time with one of the larger calibers? Which is the best way to focus my time to improve my shooting?

Thanks for all the help. The firing line has been a wealth of knowledge in my first steps of gun ownership.
Old June 24, 2017, 03:32 PM   #2
CalmerThanYou

Bringing three guns to the range is reasonable. Bring them all, shoot as often as time allows and become proficient with all three.
Old June 24, 2017, 03:38 PM   #3
JoeSixpack

Well that depends.. do you carry any of these guns? if so it should always goto the range 1st and foremost.

If you don't carry and just wanna practice the fundamentals.. and can find 22lr at a reasonable price (nothing is reasonable about 22lr these days imo)

Then take the p22 and just have fun and practice fundamentals.
The p22 will offer you the most practice for your dollar.
I will say however that I don't believe firing 500-1k rounds a session is the best.
Shorter more freq sessions I think are best IF possible.

I use to take 5-6, sometimes 7 guns to the range when I first started out.
I quickly got sick of that, lot of crap to lug, lot of cleaning afterwards.. any more I just take my 2 carry guns + maybe a fun gun.

If you just have the 3 you could take all of them and not be overwhelmed I think.
But if you're just taking one I'd probably focus on the p22.
Old June 24, 2017, 04:06 PM   #4
g.willikers