The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old November 14, 2018, 09:48 AM   #1
chemcal

So Now Looking at The DA/SA system

Sig DA/SA P series have way too heavy first pull for me. I have little experience with this platform(old revolver guy). Are there "better" DA/SA ccws to consider(something like a P250 first pull)? -- looking for compact size with about 12 round capacity
Old November 14, 2018, 09:58 AM   #2
USNRet93

Quote:
Originally Posted by chemcal View Post
Sig DA/SA P series have way too heavy first pull for me. I have little experience with this platform(old revolver guy). Are there "better" DA/SA ccws to consider(something like a P250 first pull)? -- looking for compact size with about 12 round capacity
Glock 26?

"Tools not Trophies”
Old November 14, 2018, 10:03 AM   #3
CDR_Glock

Quote:
Originally Posted by chemcal View Post

Have you tried the Legion?

I love my CZ 75 Compact.

I changed the internal springs. In SA/DA it is about 4/9 lbs.

Apart from that, there’s a CZ polymer version in Compact that you can get.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Old November 14, 2018, 10:08 AM   #4
pblanc

You can lighten up the DA trigger pull of a SIG classic P series pistol significantly just by installing a reduced force mainspring. This will also reduce the pull weight for the SA trigger pull slightly, because of the positive sear engagement angles and through reduced friction on the sear/hammer engagement surfaces. That is true for most other DA/SA pistols as well.

On the SIG P226 or 229 a 19 lb mainspring is probably as light as you should go on a self-defense pistol. For range use, many use a still lighter spring.
Old November 14, 2018, 10:29 AM   #5
bamaranger

heavy?