The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 27, 2009, 07:08 PM   #1
Oldagefun

Did I do something wrong?

Ive been shooting and hunting for years but just lately decided to reload. At 60 years old better late then never. I've read most of the more current manuals and have had some help from more experienced people but nothing compares to the wealth of knowledge I've gained from this forum. I can't thank the many friendly people who have shared their knowledge here.
On to my problem. Loading a 30-06 Nosler Bt 180 gr bullet with 57.5 gr of Viht N 165. Data came from the Nosler manual so I assume its OK. In seating the bullet the powder crunches. I've attempted to tap the cases and have even dropped the powder with a long necked funnel. Have I created a compressed load that might be potentially dangerous. Since I'm new at this would appreciate advice from you more experienced guys.

Never knew I could have so much fun with a new hobby like this. Nobody told me that I would be spending most of my extra cash on brass, bullets, powder ect. Thanx.
Old November 27, 2009, 07:22 PM   #2
jepp2

I don't have a Nosler manual. Compressed powder charges in rifle loads are common in some calibers. Some manuals show compressed charges by an * or some other means. I load some 222 and 223 loads that I can't even get all the powder in the case without settling the powder.

I assume you are not starting with the max load listed with your load?
Old November 27, 2009, 07:26 PM   #3
steveno