The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 10, 2019, 11:32 AM   #1
idigg

reloaded 30-06 thats similar to off the shelf?

hi folks. so im looking to work up some loads for my 30-06 for deer. im new to reloading, but my father, who would be doing the loading with me, is not.

he had made up some loads based off of the end result being very similar to what is found off-the-shelf remington green box. basically... go hunting, forget your ammo... you can still get by. alternatively, hunting season is tomorrow, and you just realized you are down to 3 bullets.

anyway... he wasnt really into it for max accuracy, and never shot beyond 100 yards... me on the other hand, i like longer distance shooting. nothing extreme. 200 yards often, 400 yards max. so im more concerned about the hand load than i am about being the same as off-the-shelf. as long as its within an inch or 2 at 100 yards of off the shelf, im fine with it.

so he currently has IMR4350, and Sierra150gr spitzer bullets. i dont mind buying other powder or bullets. in fact, id love to. his powder has been sitting around for a decade or more. not looking for top of the line top dollar stuff.

any load recommendations would be great. a starting point. im sure there is more info you need that im not thinking of.

gun is a 24" bergara b-14 ridge if that matters.
Old October 10, 2019, 12:31 PM   #2
Rimfire5

One thing you didn't include is whether your B-14 prefers light or heavier bullets.
I expected my .30-06 to prefer light bullets like your 150s but after trying different weights, I found that it shot better with heavier bullets from 175 to 200 grains.