The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old November 23, 2011, 09:07 PM   #1
dlbarr

Difference in quality for the price?

I'm referring to the price difference between Pietta or Uberti and Cimarron. As you know there is a significant $$ difference between these companies' products and I am wondering if there is, in the opinion of you all, a commensurate difference in the quality of Cimarron over the others.

I am just getting started in this game and don't have the experience to know these answers yet.
Old November 23, 2011, 09:34 PM   #2
Aguila Blanca
Staff

Both Pietta and Uberti are manufacturers. Cimmaron is an importer. I believe most of Cimmaron's revolvers are made by Uberti.
Old November 23, 2011, 10:18 PM   #3
Hawg

Cimarrons are a cut above even tho they are Uberti's but a Pietta from Cabela's is the best bang for the buck.
Old November 23, 2011, 10:22 PM   #4
dlbarr

Yeah I was aware that Uberti made the stuff Cimarron sells. I talked with somebody there in Fredericksburg and they said that the manufacturing and steel quality was superior to anything else on the market. Like they bought/provided the machinery for Uberti which was or is supposed to be better than what is used for the production of the other firearms.

Anyway, that's still my question - is their stuff made better than the others?
Old November 23, 2011, 10:23 PM   #5
dlbarr

OK Hawg, thanks.....so why is their stuff "a cut above"?
Old November 23, 2011, 11:48 PM   #6
Shotgun693

Some importers do extra stuff to the guns they market. My Taylor and Co SAA has a better fit and finish, has case hardening on the hammer and to me feels slicker. I've heard it argued back and forth, all I know is my T&Co is a better gun than the plain Uberti or the Navy Arms SAAs I've owned.
Old November 24, 2011, 04:24 AM   #7
Hawg