The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 12, 2009, 07:24 AM   #1
Dr Killdeer

Is lube necessary for 45ACP?

I’m loading 45 ACP rounds using the Lee 4 die set. I’m new at it and I need some input about lubing. Once I got the dies set up properly and worked out some initial problems, I made 10 dummy rounds to check the specs. They came out just fine and I proceeded to load the first 100 live rounds.

I had no problem seating the 185 grain Speer Gold Dot when I made the dummy rounds, so I didn’t use any lube when I loaded the real ones.

Now, I’m having second thoughts about it. It’s a hell of a time to ask, but should I have used lube when seating the bullets? I know it’s necessary for rifle, but what’s the norm for handgun?
Old November 12, 2009, 07:45 AM   #2
grumpa72

If you bought the Lee Deluxe four die set, then you have one with carbide components and lube is not necessary. I have that set and have loaded several thousand 9mm, .40 s&w, and ,45 acp without lube.
Old November 12, 2009, 08:10 AM   #3
David Wile

Hey Doc,

Your last paragraph makes it sound like you are asking about using lube in the bullet seating process: "It’s a hell of a time to ask, but should I have used lube when seating the bullets?" I think Grumpa's response was addressed to using lube while sizing the cases and, like he said, you do not need to lube cases when using a carbide sizing die. However, if you are talking about lubing bullets before seating them, that is something new to me, and I suspect you are confusing lubing bullets and lubing cases. Most folks lube and size cast bullets in a special Lubrisizer press before seating them in cases, but I don't think that is what you were asking. Could you clarify your question?

Best wishes,
Dave Wile
Old November 12, 2009, 09:09 AM   #4
sourdough44