The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old August 11, 2012, 11:31 PM   #1
bailey bud

3 gun first time

Well --- just learned the difference between target shooting and tactical training!

I've been shooting for about 15 years --- mostly shotgun, rimfire pistol, and rimfire rifle. I can shoot centerfire rifle --- but usually in hunting type situations (.30-06).

I'd consider myself a reasonably good shot.

Just tried a 3-gun course, today ---- and got my butt kicked!

I actually scored very high on target precision (2nd highest, in fact out of 10) -However, I was destroyed on:
- ammo management (ending up with the correct number of rounds, even with mandatory magazine changes)
- speed (I'm a target shooter --- I take my time)
- re-loading (time added for reloading in the open without cover)

I admit ---- I'm not a fan of tactical shooting ---- but it made me realize that I'm not as prepared as I've always thought I was.

Sure - I can hit a plate at 200 yards sitting at a bench. However I'm not quite as good at hitting a zombie at 50 yards while in motion.

If you guys haven't tried it ---- I'd recommend it.
Old August 12, 2012, 09:10 PM   #2
Hook686

When are you going to have to, [QUOTE][hitting a zombie at 50 yards while in motion/QUOTE]

From my view point 3 gun matches and similar are great practice for LEOs and SWAT types, but while a change in pace from plain old target shooting, I really seriously doubt I'll ever get into that kind of gun fighting.

I personally believe I am well served by practicing trigger control and rapid target acquision. Different stokes for different folks. Though I did find the 3 gun match more enjoyable than a round of golf.

When the number of people in institutions reaches 51%, we change sides.
Old August 12, 2012, 09:45 PM   #3
rduckwor

But you had a damn good time didn't you?!
Old August 13, 2012, 12:54 AM   #4
aphdmansoc