The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 17, 2018, 01:36 PM   #1
doubletapp23

case length for 22-243

Just bought a remington 700 in 22-243. It came with a set of rcbs dies. I'm forming my own brass from new 243 win hornady cases. Do I need to trim the cases or is the original 243 win case length correct? What length should I trim them to? Thanks for the help.
Old August 17, 2018, 02:13 PM   #2
Dufus

From what I have, trim length is 2.035".
Old August 17, 2018, 02:15 PM   #3
mkl

I'm not an expert on wildcats, but I would think you would need to inside neck ream the .243 cases after they have been sized down to allow a .223 bullet to fit. Seems to me that the brass neck would be too thick otherwise.

Others will have to answer your question as to proper OAL of the case as I have no experience with this cartridge.

Be careful what bullets you use. I've heard that many of the polymer tip bullets melt from air friction at the velocity you are probably getting in that caliber and a melting tip will cause a loss of accuracy.
Old August 17, 2018, 03:18 PM   #4
Unclenick
Staff

Doubletapp23,

Welcome to the forum.

The best thing would be to make a chamber cast and use a number 0.010" shorter than the chamber mouth from the shoulder as the maximum and 0.020" shorter than the chamber mouth from the shoulder as the trim-to number. QuickLOAD's database puts the maximum at 2.018".
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old August 18, 2018, 12:09 AM   #5
GWS

Doubletapp23,

I came into a .22-243 quite by accident. It was abandoned in one of my selfstorage units. It came in a canvas zippered gun case with a pocket that had a box of reloads in it. I thought I had a .243 until I looked closer.

The reloads were .22-243 Winchester which has the same shoulder angle as the .243 Winchester........so I thought that's what I had.