The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old February 24, 2020, 12:22 AM   #1
NobodyJones

Steel AR-15 receiver?

Okay, I am no expert, or even really very familiar with the AR-15, so pardon my ignorance with the following question. AR-15's have a milled aluminum lower, has there ever been a model built with as milled steel lower?

Last edited by NobodyJones; February 24, 2020 at 12:29 AM.
Old February 24, 2020, 12:50 AM   #2
MarkCO

There are a few out there for high end builds like Turnbull. Forged then CNC'd 6061, then 7075 then billet are some upgrades from the original. I have, at one point, owned all of them aluminums, Steel and Polymer. Sold the Steel, have a Cav Arms and GWACs still in polymer. But most of mine at 7075 with a few billet.
Old February 24, 2020, 02:03 AM   #3
NobodyJones

Okay, don't take this the wrong way because I don't mean any insult, but I chuckled when I read that. The only parts I understood were Yes, some high end AR-15s had milled steel lowers. most were aluminum and some are polymer.

The particular grades of metal have little meaning to me. Sorry.

But thank you for the information.
Old February 24, 2020, 06:39 AM   #4
zukiphile

An outfit called Vulcan/Hesse made steel lowers (in stainless if memory serves) in the 90s. The Vulcan parts were poorly regarded.

Last edited by zukiphile; February 24, 2020 at 06:46 AM.
Old February 24, 2020, 08:10 AM   #5
MarkCO

7075 is stronger than 6061. About the only that that means is that the barrel nut can be torqued a little higher making a more rigid assembly. On lowers, does not matter, on uppers, for some, that matters.
Old February 24, 2020, 11:37 AM   #6
zukiphile

Quote:
Originally Posted by NobodyJones
Okay, I am no expert, or even really very familiar with the AR-15, so pardon my ignorance with the following question. AR-15's have a milled aluminum lower, has there ever been a model built with as milled steel lower?