The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 13, 2020, 05:01 PM   #1
wondering121

How to crimp .44 & .357 without a cannelure

Sorry in advance for the long post....I'm new to handloading for revolvers and picked up some Berry's in .357 (125 grain) and .44 (240 grain) only to find that they do not have a cannelure groove.

I've done some research but wanted to run my specific situation by the experts here. For the .44 magnum I would load with Unique and shoot out of a S&W Model 69 4" barrel. I have a Lee Factory Crimp Die for the .357 and another for the .44 coming in the mail tomorrow.

I've read that some people deep seat the bullet and taper crimp around the ogive, but I really do not want to alter overall length as my level of expertise is not that high.

My gameplan is to load based the .44 in light magnum loads based on 240 grain plated data around 1000 fps (10-11 grains Unique) and maintain the OAL given in the manual. I will use the Lee Crimp die to apply a slight roll crimp (being careful not to cut through the plating) then load 5 and fire 4 and check the length of the unfired round to see if I get any OAL changes.

I will probably try the same gameplan with the .357 using 7-7.5 grains of Unique out of a 3" Ruger SP101.

I do have .38 spl and .44 spl brass that I can fall back on for lighter loads if my magnum gameplan is too ambitious.

Am I overlooking anything or do any of you have any further advice?

Thanks in advance!
Old February 13, 2020, 05:27 PM   #2
Nick_C_S

Welcome to TFL!