The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26, 2022, 10:56 AM   #1
Gary Slider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 10, 2006
Location: New Martinsville, WV
Posts: 414
South Dakota, Utah, Vermont and Virginia Updates

South Dakota – The Governor has signed three bills that will become effective July 1, 2022.

SB 195 clarifies their current Stand Your Ground Law.
https://mylrc.sdlegislature.gov/api/...nts/235699.pdf

SB 1162 Updates the definition of Loaded Firearm that a firearm is considered loaded only if a round is in the chamber. https://mylrc.sdlegislature.gov/api/...nts/235683.pdf

HB 212 reduces the cost of a South Dakota Permit to $00.00
https://mylrc.sdlegislature.gov/api/...nts/236252.pdf

Utah - The Governor has signed SB 115 which puts more teeth in their firearm Preemption laws. The amended laws become effective May 4, 2022. You can read the bill at https://le.utah.gov/~2022/bills/static/SB0115.html

Vermont - (Effective July 1, 2022) The governor has signed S 4. This bill adds a section Banning firearms in Hospitals. They must be posted. It also added a section to existing law allowing for Non-Residents to take high cap mags into VT for a certified shooting match. I had reported this earlier as passed and the legislature overrode the Governors veto. That was not correct. The legislature made one little change the Governor wanted and sent him this bill which he signed. All they changed was 30 days to 7 days for Background Check Waiting Period. You can read the bill at
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Docu...20Official.pdf

Virginia – I posted about S 758 and VA removing Switchblade Knives from their law. The bill only allows for possession of switchblades. It is still illegal to possess a switchblade until July 1, 2022 when this law takes effect. § 18.2-308. Carrying concealed weapons still makes the carrying a concealed switchblade knife illegal even when the new law goes into effect. You can read § 18.2-308. at https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/...ction18.2-308/

The bill that covers another section of VA law that only allows for the possession can be seen at
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/leg...ul+SB758ER+pdf that just allows for the possession.
A Thank You to those who pointed this out to me.
__________________
___________
Gary Slider
Co-Owner Handgunlaw.us
Member Armed Citizens Legal Defense Network.
Gary Slider is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2021 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Page generated in 0.02788 seconds with 8 queries