The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old August 9, 2020, 09:33 AM   #1
range_rider13

Wards Hercules Model 50 in 20 Gauge

Gentlemen:

I inherited an old Wards Hercules Model 50 in 20 gauge back in 1973. I started shooting it in the mid 1960's and it was well used then. I am told it is a Stevens 311/5100 made for Wards. Serial # 409XX. It is a hammer-less side by side with double triggers and approximately 27 3/4" barrels (so I guess they would be considered 28"). It has a wooden stock and forearm which I assume are walnut.

My question is, where do I locate the choke markings for each barrel? If there are no markings, what would have been the normal/most popular chokes for this side by side? The front trigger fires the right barrel and the back trigger the left.

Any information would be appreciated. Thank you.
Old August 9, 2020, 11:57 AM   #2
Virginian

Most 28" barrels were choked Modified and Full. I don't remember for sure but I think the choke markings are on the barrel flats.
Old August 9, 2020, 06:54 PM   #3
Pahoo

Agree

Quote:
Most 28" barrels were choked Modified and Full.
Yes, I'm good with that. Now, if you can't confirm with any barrel markings, try to locate a local smith that has a choke gauge. It's a "V" shaped plate that has marking, on the face. You can also Mic the bores or put a dime, into the muzzle. The full will not let the dime, through. You have a nice old classic there and some of my favorites. ....

Be Safe !!
Old August 9, 2020, 07:56 PM   #4
range_rider13

Gentlemen thank you both for your replies.
Old August 9, 2020, 11:43 PM   #5
Bill DeShivs

The dime trick works on 12 ga., not 20.
Old August 10, 2020, 01:10 PM   #6
Ricklin

I do believe

The dime only works on old 12 gauge full chokes. That little trick helped me figure out an issue, once upon a time.
I bought a used Winchester 101, one of the originals, not the current one. It was marked modified and full.