The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 18, 2015, 09:21 PM   #1
Chainsaw.

44 Mag cast bullets coming out to small?

So I have a lyman nould for 44 mag. Im casting bullets from wheel weight lead. 44 mag should come out to 429. 430. Or 431 If im not mistaken. But im getting 428...? Now I am BRAND NEW to casting so Im sure Im doinh something wrong, I jist have no idea what.

The number for the nould shows it should throw a .430
Old September 18, 2015, 11:17 PM   #2
condor bravo

Your thread will probably be transferred to the experts at Bullet Casting. It may be that you just might have an undersized mold. I cast at around 750 degrees with wheel weights and find that bullets may drop undersized if temperature is not maintained or when first heating up. You may be able to squeeze out a little more bullet diameter by increasing the casting temperature if not at the proper temperature you are using. But my guess is that the mold is undersized.
Old September 18, 2015, 11:23 PM   #3
FrankenMauser

Lyman molds are designed to drop bullets at the specified diameter only when using the alloy specified by Lyman.
In the case of .44 Mag bullets, that alloy is known as Lyman #2. It doesn't shrink as much as wheel weight alloy, which causes a problem for a lot of people...

One way to try to "fudge" the numbers a bit is to cast with a nicely warmed mold, but the alloy as cool as you can get it without getting crystal formations.
Cold alloy doesn't shrink as much as hot alloy.
Warm molds have slightly larger cavities than cool molds. (Generally - there are some freakish exceptions.)

Pour fast with the spout contacting the sprue plate, and be sure to leave a good puddle on the sprue plate.

Might work.
Might not.