The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 18, 2016, 09:25 AM   #1
NINEX19

NEVER tumble cases with new primers.

OK, I just learned a lesson the very hard way that I thought I would share with others. Go ahead an laugh, I am sure most have already figured this out.

Background - I have been reloading for the last seven years. Up until now, I have reloaded my own once fired cases from factory new rounds. Just dump the used cases in the tumbler and when done de-cap and move on to the next step. No problems.

Well, I had the great idea to buy some nickel plated cases to keep my "premium" outdoor loads separated from my "plinking" loads. Fine, but I soon realized that finding nickel plated for sale was difficult and when I did find them, they were quite expensive. It was almost cheaper to just buy factory loaded nickel cases than the cases alone.

I finally found a large quantity of new and primed 357 Magnum nickel plated cases that had bullets pulled (Federal) that cost 9 cents each. I thought that was a very reasonable price. When they arrived, they looked good except they had some spotting and a bit of a dull look to them. I like bright cases, and they would not quite pass my Q.C.

I am sure anyone experienced enough can see where this story is going.

Anyway, I get the great idea of throwing them in the tumbler for a quick roll around to brighten them up before loading. I am embarrassed to I admit, I did not think the entire process out before hitting the "on" switch.

So after about an hour of tumbling, I pull them out and was admiring how bright the insides were and noticed something on almost ALL 500 cases I bought. Yes, little bits of media stuck in the flash hole that would NOT come out.

Yes, I am now left with the task of de-priming all these cases, carefully cleaning out the primer and re-priming.