The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old February 26, 2006, 06:46 PM   #1
scout4118

BP Firearm Manufactures???

I'm new to BP and have decided on an 1851 Navy Steel Revolver. My problem is I feel like a chicken pecking through the S@!T trying to find the feed. Is there a site where I can get a listing of all the manufacturers and reviews of there respective firearms? Kinda like a Harmony Central for firearms. If there isn't any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old February 26, 2006, 07:52 PM   #2
Remington kid

Scout, For me to sit here and tell you all about the two manufactures of these Revolvers and all the distributes and what they do is kind of useless when it's all being discussed right now at this link, I'm sure it will helps with your decision, Mike
http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=185375
Old February 27, 2006, 01:33 AM   #3
gmatov

Scout,

Go by price. Start with Pietta as the minimum, at Cabela's at 169.95, and if they don't look good enough for you, look at Uberti's and Cimmaron Firearms Uberti's, at about 100 bucks more.

If you're new to this, don't know if you will enjoy it, why go to top priced guns? They won't shoot any better. The best you can do is 1 hole and all CAN do that, if you are good enough.

Like saying I want to try a rifle, gonna buy a 40X for my first.

180 or so for the pistol, shipped, 4 bucks for caps, 9 bucks for 100 balls, 15 to 20 for a can of powder, 7 for a tube of Borebutter, or a quarter to the wife for a little Crisco for over the ball grease, which you don't need, see Mike, but you might want to try. 225 bucks or so to go shoot the first 100 rounds.

You don't like it, shoot all the consumables, sell the gun on Gunbroker, most likely get most of your money back.