The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old July 8, 2016, 04:28 PM   #1
AlmightyJackas21985

Help: best 22lr load/brand for hunting on a budget?

sup? im new to hunting, at least with a gun. i have a savage arms model 64 22lr, and i plan to go squirreling and possibly cooning if a 22 is good enough for it. i dont know much about the different types of 22 rounds. i know that a 40 grain usually goes farther than a 60 grain, and that some of the heavier loads tend to tumble, but that is all second hand knowledge. i haven't shot my 22 at anything more than 50 yard targets, as there is a lack of space. and i have no real means of determining bullet speed or tumble, only how accurately i can shoot it...so my question is, whats a good brand/load for hunting small game? i'll be stalking my prey, so distance wont be too much of a problem, i foresee 25 yards being farther than i'll be shooting at. but i havent got a lot of money, and am in between jobs at the moment, so i cant go out and scouyrge for the ever so rare 22s at stores or gunshows. my pa did get me a ticket for the upcoming prepper show in Raleigh this sunday, but thats not exactly a gun show...
Old July 8, 2016, 04:37 PM   #2
Cheapshooter

In a 22 LR, anything you can find will be perfectly alright tor hunting small game. It's generally thought that CCI makes some of the best 22 LR ammo available.
The biggest variable is what your particular rifle shoots best. Both in reliable function, and accuracy.
Cheapshooter's rules of gun ownership #1: NEVER SELL OR TRADE ANYTHING!
Old July 8, 2016, 09:21 PM   #3
marine6680

Minimag hollowpoints will work for most small game. Even the round nose will work for most small game.
Old July 8, 2016, 09:25 PM   #4
AlmightyJackas21985

thanks, i heard cci was good, but i havent bought any yet. ill buy some next time i see some,
Old July 8, 2016, 09:30 PM   #5
Cheapshooter

Quote: