The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 5, 2010, 04:21 PM   #1
Boondoggie

Re: Help - issues with 9mm loads

I am fairly new to the re-loading game and recently started loading 9mm.

I started with 115grn ball ammo and was fairly successful, in the sense that they all went ‘bang’ when they were suppose to and all chambered, extracted and ejected. I really wasn’t going for anything fancy, just some range ammo.

Well after about 1000 rounds of these, I decided to move onto some semi-wad cutters 124grn platted bullets from Berry. The first couple of hundred worked great, then I started to have some failure to feed.

I have checked all the dimensions and made sure that nothing had shifted, everything seems correct.

COL = 1.100”
Crimp = 0.380”
Powder = 4.8grn HP38
Primer = Federals
Cases = once or twice fired Remingtons and Winchesters

The gun is a Glock 34. I also tried these in my 17 and 26 with mixed results, all had some failure to feed.

At this point I am beginning to wonder if the Glocks just doesn’t like the shape of the bullets or am I doing something wrong?

I would like to find a solution to this if I can as I have another 700 rounds of these to go through and I had previously purchased 1500 of 124grn hollow points of the same design based on my initial success.

Anyone share some insight?
Old June 5, 2010, 04:31 PM   #2
IllinoisCoyoteHunter

Not sure why the first couple hundred worked fine and they quit working all the sudden. Sounds to me like your seating depth may be casuing the FTF's. Change your seating depth, but make sure you don't go under your Min Overall length for the given load. Have you tried a slightly longer COL?

~NRA LIFE MEMBER~
~NRA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR~
Old June 5, 2010, 04:35 PM   #3
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

Forgive my ignorance, but are you sure they're "Semi-Wad Cutters" from Berry's?

I don't see any SWCs in 9mm plated on their site...