The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 14, 2019, 03:43 PM   #1
dedrevil

Handload Vertical Stringing Help

So I ran up my first load of some of the 135gr 6.5 Creedmoor A-tip.
Strang 4 rounds vertically, one flier, 1.6" group @ 100yds (ran 2 other 5 shot groups that were similar). Load data was Hornady's recommended powder charge and OAL as a starting point, case capacity seemed ideal using RL-16.

Then, I shot 4 rounds of Hornady American Gunner BTHP 140gr (literally the cheapest thing at the gun store) and it did 0.6" group with 3 touching and one flier.
I then did 5 shots on the chono with my handloads (just a Caldwell chrono):
StdDev: 60 fps
ExSpread: 119 fps
Average: 2740 fps (i was going for 2725 fps)

I have been handloading for a like 6 years but this is my first attempt at the long-range/super-accurate loads (sub-moa type). Normally do bulk or hunting loads moa-ish.

I am trying to figure out why the high spread on chrono and stringing. If the chrono is accurate I am assuming my Velocity inconsistency is what causes the stringing, but not sure why...

I am using a Hornady single-stage
micrometer seating die, with the a-tip seat, digital powder measure

135gr A-tip, hornady brass, tried superformance and RL16 (both had similar chrono results), fed 210m primers
Tolerances:
Seating had +/- 0.002" (measuring off the bullet tip, I have ordered a comparator but didnt use one)
Powder was +/- 0.1 grain

Gun is a Bergara HMR, vortex ffp 6-24x50, benchrest using front bipod and rear bag.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Atip Grouping.jpg (148.7 KB, 44 views)
Old October 14, 2019, 04:36 PM   #2
scatterbrain

Your 60 SD us an indiation of your consistant reloads. Try the factory loads over the chrono and you will see most likely see around 10-15 SD.
There is one major difference in the store bought and reloads: NEW UNFIRED BRASS. It's in the brass preparation.