The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old June 13, 2004, 06:31 PM   #1
Agencyman

IPSC belt gear, finding?

I am an IDPA newbie, (2 matches + a classifier), but totally new to IPSC, just shot my first. I only had a two mag Fobus concealment paddle for extra 45 Govt. mags., so I had a couple more in various pockets, one stuck under my belt near the holder...

It was every bit as bad as you'd guess. Got flustered twice when I reached for a mag and found my holder empty, then couldn't remember which pocket had a useable mag! Once, ended up shooting with one foot out of the box, and 20 seconds went away in the blink of an eye.

******SO! What brands or vendors could I look up on the web to find a four-mag holder, and later a holster? The ones I saw at the match were definitely NOT concealment mag pouches. They stuck way out at odd angles.

Thanks,
Bruce
Old June 14, 2004, 10:03 AM   #2
Jeeper

THis depends on what route you are going to go. You gun is in limited or limited 10 for ISPC wwhich means a variety of holster choices. The speed holsters are usually made by companies like Ghost, Limcat, safariland, CR Speed, and Frank Garcia. as with the speed pouches. You could also go the kydex route which is a hell of a lot cheaper with a company like comp-tac(What Burkett uses by the way) They make nice stuff and you could use it in both IDPA and IPSC

http://www.comp-tac.com/
Old June 14, 2004, 01:35 PM   #3
Agencyman

Jeepers!, (sounds like I'm auditioning for the Lil' Rascals reprise!)

I muchly appreciate that link. I had meanwhile searched google for ["mag holder" + competition] and had found BladeTec and several others that were OK, but not what I was looking for.

That Comp-Tac in a double is adjustable and exactly what I'd had in mind, I just ordered.

My Fobus paddle double is possibly better for real world concealment, but almost too tight to the ribs. These will be better for IPSC and IDPA.

Thanks,