The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old March 25, 2018, 07:02 PM   #1
TxFlyFish

don’t even want to get another revolver anymore...

Not sure if y’all share the same sentiment. Cost cutting with every revision, poor qc, regulatory features, spend big bucks on a revolver that is a shadow of its former glory. And if you finally find a nice vintage one you don’t want to ruin it by shooting it. The only consolation? CS is on overdrive and will take care of you. Is this what the revolvers market has turned into?

The semi auto market in this regard is doing somewhat better.
Old March 25, 2018, 07:32 PM   #2
CDR_Glock

Maybe I have low expectations and I have had limited experience with days of old. I acquired somewhere in the neighborhood of 12 revolvers in a year. I had no issues with Ruger Super RedHawks or my X frame S&W revolvers.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Old March 25, 2018, 07:39 PM   #3
bn12gg

I shoot ALL my "vintage" Colt and S/W revolvers -- shoot'em or move them down the road.

.02. David.

Ps -- I'm curious as to the quality os the new Colt Cobra -- have not handled or shot one.
Old March 25, 2018, 07:51 PM   #4
TxFlyFish

You guys are much braver than I am
Old March 25, 2018, 08:02 PM   #5
tranders

I am reluctant for new revolver purchases unless an extensive go over before purchasing.

The local Rural King has a decent selection of revolvers,but they aren't allowed to remove the trigger lock until the purchase. Makes it impossible to check timing and trigger pull.
Old March 25, 2018, 08:13 PM   #6
In The Ten Ring

I have carried a S&W Airweight for four years now. I am not happy about the lock on the side but I haven't found a pre-lock version (yet).

Mine was a police backup gun for some time before the pawn shop got hold of it. It's pretty scratched up but works fine, the officer even had a trigger job done at some time, so I got a "deal" considering that.