The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 12, 2007, 02:13 AM   #1
Rogueone

should i consider reloading? what do i need?

Hi,

I'm fairly new to guns, and shoot regularly with a friend who has many guns, and his Daughter. We normally buy Blazer Brass at Wal-mart which has been running about $6.50 a box of 50, but seems to have jumped to over $8 this week.

I chatted with someone at MidwayUSA last week about loaders, and was given what seemed some decent advice. It was suggested I start with a simple kit such as this http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpag...eitemid=820810, in order to get used to reloading and all that is needed to be done. A multi stage press was suggested for after I'd learned to do it right with one of these single stage types.

But while trying to figure out the costs of reloading versus buying from wal-mart, it was looking like the savings weren't going to be very big for 9mm reloads (well, until this price jump). So, could some of you here that reload regularly give me an idea of how much one would expect reloads to cost per bullet, and how long to expect it to take to make 200 for an outing, etc.?

We both just joined a local Izaak Walton league that has an indoor range we can use 24/7, so our ammo consumption is likely to increase, and perhaps reloads are going to become a more viable and necessary thing for us.

Thank you for you input in advance, I expect you'll overwhelm me and have my head spinning with more information than I can process right away
Old July 12, 2007, 04:11 AM   #2
Ifishsum

Welcome to TFL!