The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old July 25, 2012, 03:55 PM   #1
7mmWSM

Ammo Recomendations For CCW 22 Rimfire

My wife just completed her CCW course and in the process had the chance to shoot a 22 rimfire semi-auto. She qualified with a 38 Special but thinks she would like a small 22 for carry. I tried to talk her into a 9mm compact but she insists that she wants a 22. So, what brand/type of ammo would you recomend for her to have in the pistol for this purpose? I have no knowledge of any testing done such as comparing HP's, traditional hunting bullets, or whatever else may be out there on the market. Thanks for the advice.
Old July 25, 2012, 04:15 PM   #2
Stressfire

Well as the saying goes baby gets what baby wants - and if that's what she will carry, so be it.

22 long rifle? Did you try to get her up to a 22WMR by any chance? Hornady makes some decent 22WMR in their Critical Defense line

If 22 LR, well, I've never had a CCI Stinger fail to go bang on me
Old July 25, 2012, 04:26 PM   #3
Lamar Jr

CCI ammo is clearly the way to go in 22LR. I have shot every brand of 22 ammo I can find and, without a doubt, the most dependable is CCI.

My top choice would be CCI Velocitor, which is a 40 grain hollow point round. This is the heaviest bullet I know of in this caliber, yet has good velocity as well.
Old July 25, 2012, 04:28 PM   #4
aarondhgraham

Apparently there are two schools of thought,,,

In past post some folk have said that high velocity hollow points are the way to go,,,
Other folk have stated that high velocity hollow points don't get enough penetration.

I straddle the fence on this.

I'm not a fan of CCI Stinger,,,
The longer case gives me pause,,,
My semi's often won't eject those cases.

Out of my S&W .22 snubbie revolver I shoot CCI Mini Mag Hollow Points,,,
Out of my Taurus 22-PLY semi I shoot CCI Mini Mag Round Nose.

Perhaps I'm over-thinking,,,