I am very fond of the .45-70 and also the Marlin 1895. However,
due to the Ruger No. ! and Winchester Hi Walls and I am also fond of
single shots. I have been looking at the Henry single shots of course
in .45-70! I haven't seen many comments concerning the Henry's,
so I was hoping to gain some of your experiences. Thank-you for your
time!
Old December 13, 2019, 03:41 PM   #2
labnoti

I have no experience with the Henry rifles, but a Henry single-shot shotgun is basically the same as the single shot rifles, just with a larger bore and no rifling or the rifle sights. I cannot compare it to a No. 1 except in price. It's about $1000 less.

The fit and finish on the Henry single shot are impeccable. Every detail about the gun is very pleasing. The 20 ga patterns very nicely with the provided modified choke and a skeet choke. I can't speak to the rifle's accuracy, but I would expect it to be as good as anyone could expect from .45-70. Having a Henry is something to be proud of or pleased with. I can't say the same thing about the cheap imported things that are popular in shotguns. I'm similarly very attracted to Ruger No. 1's, but I think it would have to be a configuration very distinct from anything Henry is offering to really compel me to pay so much more. The falling block action of the Ruger is very different, extremely strong, and I don't know that the Henry in .45-70 can be used with the high-pressure .45-70 loads that are specific to Ruger No. 1. In this article: https://www.ammoland.com/2018/06/hen...#axzz681SkQxNk the author uses a load with a 300 grain bullet going 1880 fps -- so definitely not limited to early .45-70 pressures. But the No. 1 has loads that will send 300 grains to 2580 fps.

If the Henry does what you want, I'm pretty sure you'll be pleased with everything else about it. It does what it does very well indeed.

Last edited by labnoti; December 13, 2019 at 04:05 PM.
Old December 13, 2019, 05:05 PM   #3
Scorch