The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Closed Thread

Old April 5, 2014, 06:56 PM   #1
wayneinFL

Reporting identity theft

To what law enforcement agency would you report fraud due to identity theft?

Here's the situation. I live in Florida. I am currently working in GA. I found today that 3 transactions went through against my bank account in Freehold, NJ. The bank knows about it, and has shut off my card, and filed a claim.

Freehold won't take a police report, because I can't do it in person. MCSO in FL won't take the report, because I am not there either. Kennesaw won't take the report, because I am a resident of FL and the crime happened in NJ.

It sounds as if I will get the money back eventually. I hope that happens. In the meantime, crooks are walking around with my hard earned money and there's not a damned thing anyone will do to stop them. These people did this in front of a security camera in Barnes and Noble and are going to get off scot free.

Looking at the apathy of all 3 jurisdictions, it's no wonder that consumers are paying over a billion dollars a year to fund these crooks.

Is there anything I can do to get something done about this?
Old April 5, 2014, 07:35 PM   #2
Aguila Blanca
Staff

Interstate crime ==> FBI
Old April 5, 2014, 08:05 PM   #3
Sarge

Depends on the laws of your home state. Some states, like MO, allow a resident to make the report with the agency having jurisdiction where they live.

Your immediate problem is to get a report made and/or fax a fraud affidavit to your bank, so they will abate the debits against your account.
Old April 6, 2014, 12:09 AM   #4
Fishing_Cabin

wayneinFL,