The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old February 20, 2010, 04:06 PM   #1
SP101

Homemade Holsters

I would like to make my own holster for my SP101. I have no experience with leather craft, but I think it would be fun to attempt to make my own holster.

Does anyone have any tips?

I found a book at Tandy Leather Factory that looks like it might get me started on the right path. Has anyone else here read it by chance?

Other suggestions for resources?

Last edited by SP101; February 20, 2010 at 04:21 PM.
Old February 20, 2010, 04:52 PM   #2
Jim March

This is THE Internet hangout for homebrew holstermakers:

http://www.cascity.com/forumhall/ind...oard,57.0.html

The FAQ section is particularly useful:

http://www.cascity.com/forumhall/ind...c,13207.0.html

A lot of it is geared to the CAS/SASS crowd but it's not at all limited to that.
Old February 20, 2010, 06:19 PM   #3
SP101

Homemade Holsters

Thanks for those links.

I found a couple of others this afternoon also:

http://www.jdlawhon.com/tutorial.html

http://www.unblinkingeye.com/Guns/LTools/ltools.html
Old February 21, 2010, 10:59 AM   #4
MADISON

Homenade Holsters

I had been making holsters since the 70's. When Tandy Leather shut down all their local stores I refused to buy leather products through the mail.
The odd shape holsters I made in the 70's seem to be what is selling today.
Go on e-bay and see if you can find a holster you like.
Old February 21, 2010, 12:17 PM   #5
swcr

I've been making holsters for 10-12 years. With a little practice it's not that hard to make a nice holster. Feel free to PM me if you have any questions. Here's a link to the best site I've found with information on making holsters.

http://leatherworker.net/forum/index.php?showforum=29

Eugene
Old February 21, 2010, 09:05 PM   #6
Dwight55