The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 30, 2018, 07:26 PM   #1
montana09

Checking a load-New reloader

I'm new to reloading and had a question about checking a load. First I'll start by saying that I know no matter what I should triple check any load against a manual (I'm actually checking against multiple manuals) before actually loading and firing it. I'm having issues finding any agreeance on a recipe for reloading 125 gr Berry's plated flat point bullets using Unique powder and Winchester Small Pistol Primers for .38 special. (Yes I know there are faster burning, cleaner, or other powders you prefer, I asked this question in a different website and all they did was focus on the powder and didn't offer much for advice). I know that the OAL length should be 1.445" and I should only use a light crimp but that's all any manuals seem to agree on. For data Berry's says to use the data for 125 gr cast or FMJ loads.

Where I'm running into an issue is that no one manual or manufacturer's website can seem to agree on a load. I've seen data recommending anywhere from 4.5 to 6.5 grains of Unique for 125 gr bullets. Alliant's website recommends 5.7 grains of Unique for Speers GDHP but that's the only load data they have for Unique in this bullet weight. I planned to start at 5 grains and work my way up a few rounds at a time. I'm just basically asking if anyone has used this powder and bullets together before to make sure that this won't end up being a squib load or blow up, I plan to triple check anything I load against several manuals before I do. Thanks!
Old April 30, 2018, 07:56 PM   #2
Nick_C_S

Welcome to TFL.

Quote:
if anyone has used this powder and bullets together before.
Yes I have. Or "am," I guess. I phrase it that way because I am on the tail end of completing the work up.